April 29, 2011

The Secret of Lies by Barbara Forte Abate Review

By Barbara Forte Abate
Dog Year Publishing
ISBN: 978-1608444182
Review posted 04/29/2011

Stevie Burke one night, feels that nothing is left but for her to leave her husband, the home that she has known for sometime. She tries to forget a past that haunts her memories, but has her make this shift choice to leave behind what she has lived for only a short time.

What I loved about this book was that Stevie is such a strong and bold character. Throughout this story, you can feel her struggle with dealing with past events, the hard choices she has to make and the feeling of regret at times when she feels these choices might not have been right.

Barbara Forte Abate strikes a cord with all of us enduring any kind of hardship, showing us that we are not alone and how at times no matter what the struggle, in the end we will know what the right choice should be.

April 25, 2011

Without Notice by Jason Hughes Review

by Jason Hughes
Panic Press
ISBN: 978-446603086
Review by: Terry Morgan
Review posted 04/25/2011

A cheating fiancé takes Amanda to The Graystone Castle Apartment Complex where she takes her residence. There she learns about strange occurrences, unforeseen murders and many things that she starts to wonder about. No matter what she does, the things keep occurring, even when the owner of the complex, tries to do something different. Amanda is in for the ride of her life.

At first reading the beginning few pages I was taken into a sex scene and was wondering if the book was to develop into anything else. However, Jason Hughes took me for a whirlwind of shock, horror and mystery. I often wondered what would happen next to Amanda and actually started to feel sorry for the woman.

Without Notice is a book that starts slowly, but ends with a bang, a loud one at that. Don't be distracted when reading this book, or you will miss what good writing is.