March 14, 2019





By Derek Muk
 Published by: Unnerving
 Review by: Robert Walter
Review posted: 3/14/2019

PRIVATE NUMBER / CLAWS are two new stories in Novella format written by Derek Muk.  These two stories are tied together by an intrepid paranormal investigator/professor named Albert Taylor.

In the first story, Private Number, Taylor is called in to help solve the mystery of some phone calls to a radio show that are received from a dead person named Faye. Her number on caller ID comes up as a private number and she is calling to have some help with how and who killed her. Her death is part of a series of unexplained ghastly murders in the area. The story grows as  the professor and the radio show team work together to solve this and the other murders.

In the second story, Claws, the professor is called into a small mining town to help solve a series of brutal murders with a unique twist, they only happen during a full moon. The local sheriff is dubious about the paranormal professor “assisting” with the investigation. It includes a varied cast of characters from the big business family man to the group of arrogant rednecks.

Both stories have a good basis for the storyline and were entertaining to read. The characters, including the lead character, Professor Albert Taylor, lends to the story telling. While both stories seem a bit rushed at the end, they were interesting and definitely worth the read.

January 16, 2019

Tooth Decay: Short Story Collection by Shells Walter



On Sale here:
           

At Shells Walter's Website
http://www.shellswalter.com/p/shop.html

At AFK Bookstore Located here:

AFK Books & Records - 4801 Shore Dr, Suite D - Virginia Beach, VA 23455 - (757) 962-1996

November 7, 2018

Review of Arithmophobia by Ruschelle Dillon



Arithmophobia is a collection of short stories by Ruschelle Dillion. The stories in this collection are each unique and very special.

Stories such as 'It Takes Two,' that talks about the issue of vanity and plastic surgery going in a different direction. Still, there are stories such as 'Four Men on Horses,' that discusses what seems to be the issues of the Four Horsemen of the apocalypse.

What I enjoyed most from these stories is the bit of introduction that this author puts in front of each story. Now if you have seen The Twlight Zone or some of those earlier mystery and horror type shows, you will know that each gives you an understanding of what is to come, what someone might do in dire circumstances and what they may feel is their only option.

I credit Dillon in taking the horror, the human nature that we possess and stretching it to the ultimate limits. I have never read a writer that is quite like this. In each story I felt as if I wanted these characters to learn their lesson or found myself saying to the characters "you should have known better." 

I loved every story. There of course was a favorite story of mine, 'Three is as Magic as can be,' that talks about a serial killer and his idea of the number three. In this story she drives the fear of being different, of not belonging in one way or another and having that feeling making a person do unspeakable things.

There is not a good enough reason why you should not get Arithmophobia. You need to read each and every story in this book and cherish what you have, maybe make some changes in your life and hope for the best in every situation. This collection is one of the best I have read and will read over and over again. Don't be afraid, pick it up and take a read. I promise you it won't hurt, not even a little.

August 29, 2018

Orphan Surfacing by Nathan Day Review




By Nathan Day
Published by: Seventh Star  Press
Review by: Shells Walter
Review posted: 8/29/2018

Orphan Surfacing, tells the story of the war between the angels and the demons. God has exited stage left and now all chaos has erupted. There are even some of the angels that left and became mortal. However, there is a child who's name is Solomon who holds special significance to both the demons and the angels. The fight wraps around this child and among the individual demons, led by Uzahl and the angels, who already are doing their own thing now that God is gone.


When reading this you are taken through different peoples' stories and then all of a sudden there is an angel.  Wait, I know this sounds a bit confusing and it was at the start, but stick through it it does get better. After awhile you realize there is a war going on between demons and angels. Yes, we know a story we have heard before. However, not how Day describes it. There are demons and angels, we know this, but there is a sense of struggle between the angels themselves. They are on their own.

What I enjoyed most about this story was Day's way of describing things. There were times when the descriptions seemed a bit too long, but they were so good that you could place yourself right into the story. 

I was also amazed after the initial background that was placed in the story, how fast the plot started to fly. It was here then there and it never stopped amazing me. Even with the story's slow start, it still was a great read. Yes, I would recommend it to anyone that wants a different take on the fight of what we consider at times to be good and evil. There is always a twist to the story and Day makes that wonderfully happen.

All I have to say to that is thank you for making what would seem like a typical angel versus demon story so much better.



August 22, 2018

Drunk Driving Champion by Eric Hendrixson Review


By: Eric Hendrixson
Published by: Eraserhead  Press
Review by: Shells Walter
Review posted: 8/22/2018



Drunk Driving Champion is a story that will drive you mad, but in a good way. If you remember the dark comedies such as "Death Race" or even "Cannonball Run," than you will love this one.

The story starts out with a race and yes folks it is a drunk race. The contestants must blow into a Breathalyzer to get their cars to start. Now before anyone goes "Oh my God you're pushing for people to drive drunk?" No, that's not what I am saying and please remember this is a fictional story. Now back to where I was.

After awhile you will get to meet some of the contestants and see where their minds are at and see just where Hendrixson has his talent, his dark humor. I laughed so hard at some of these characters that I spit out the coffee I was drinking at the time. Yes, Minus the fact I am a sucker for a good dark comedy, this story has made my prize list. 

As the story continues to unfold some of the characters tell their deepest secrets and than you get further into why this race is so important to them. What makes this such a great story and made me think of those movies I listed above, besides the dark humor, there is also a greedy sinister plot that is involved that was really behind making the underground race more mainstream. When you read this story and find that out you will just love it.

I will recommend anyone to read this who is looking for just some out of the normal humor and a day off of things. Relax, take this book, read and enjoy. Repeat as necessary.


August 8, 2018

Back by Demand

Due to demand, Sonar4 Landing Dock Reviews will now be accepting books for reviews again.

You can request a review here:

CLICK HERE TO REQUEST A REVIEW