August 29, 2018

Orphan Surfacing by Nathan Day Review



By Nathan Day
Published by: Seventh Star  Press
Review by: Shells Walter
Review posted: 8/29/2018

Orphan Surfacing, tells the story of the war between the angels and the demons. God has exited stage left and now all chaos has erupted. There are even some of the angels that left and became mortal. However, there is a child who's name is Solomon who holds special significance to both the demons and the angels. The fight wraps around this child and among the individual demons, led by Uzahl and the angels, who already are doing their own thing now that God is gone.


When reading this you are taken through different peoples' stories and then all of a sudden there is an angel.  Wait, I know this sounds a bit confusing and it was at the start, but stick through it it does get better. After awhile you realize there is a war going on between demons and angels. Yes, we know a story we have heard before. However, not how Day describes it. There are demons and angels, we know this, but there is a sense of struggle between the angels themselves. They are on their own.

What I enjoyed most about this story was Day's way of describing things. There were times when the descriptions seemed a bit too long, but they were so good that you could place yourself right into the story. 

I was also amazed after the initial background that was placed in the story, how fast the plot started to fly. It was here then there and it never stopped amazing me. Even with the story's slow start, it still was a great read. Yes, I would recommend it to anyone that wants a different take on the fight of what we consider at times to be good and evil. There is always a twist to the story and Day makes that wonderfully happen.

All I have to say to that is thank you for making what would seem like a typical angel versus demon story so much better.



August 22, 2018

Drunk Driving Champion by Eric Hendrixson Review


By: Eric Hendrixson
Published by: Eraserhead  Press
Review by: Shells Walter
Review posted: 8/22/2018



Drunk Driving Champion is a story that will drive you mad, but in a good way. If you remember the dark comedies such as "Death Race" or even "Cannonball Run," than you will love this one.

The story starts out with a race and yes folks it is a drunk race. The contestants must blow into a Breathalyzer to get their cars to start. Now before anyone goes "Oh my God you're pushing for people to drive drunk?" No, that's not what I am saying and please remember this is a fictional story. Now back to where I was.

After awhile you will get to meet some of the contestants and see where their minds are at and see just where Hendrixson has his talent, his dark humor. I laughed so hard at some of these characters that I spit out the coffee I was drinking at the time. Yes, Minus the fact I am a sucker for a good dark comedy, this story has made my prize list. 

As the story continues to unfold some of the characters tell their deepest secrets and than you get further into why this race is so important to them. What makes this such a great story and made me think of those movies I listed above, besides the dark humor, there is also a greedy sinister plot that is involved that was really behind making the underground race more mainstream. When you read this story and find that out you will just love it.

I will recommend anyone to read this who is looking for just some out of the normal humor and a day off of things. Relax, take this book, read and enjoy. Repeat as necessary.


August 8, 2018

Back by Demand

Due to demand, Sonar4 Landing Dock Reviews will now be accepting books for reviews again.

You can request a review here:

CLICK HERE TO REQUEST A REVIEW


April 7, 2012

The Haunter of the Threshold by Edward Lee Review

By Edward Lee
Deadite Press
Review by: Ronnie Tucker
Review posted 4/07/2012

I'd heard good things about Edward Lee, but had never read any of his books until now. One other thing: The Haunter of the Threshold is, by Mr. Lee's own admission, a sequel (of sorts) to H. P. Lovecraft's story, The Haunter of the Dark. Thus far there are two things that cast doubt on this book: reputation, and sequel. That's a lot to live up to.

Well, he's certainly as sick as I'd heard. No doubt about that. The Haunter of the Threshold starts off, right from the get-go, with a woman being violently raped. Later said woman and her heavily pregnant friend (and co-worker) head off, on vacation, to a shack in the forest which the pregnant woman's husband has just inherited.

The red-neck area seems quaint enough, with many a friendly villager, and with our heroine developing a crush on one of the residents. Meanwhile our pregnant, hormonally-challenged, co-star is none to happy that her husband is delaying his arrival at the house due to rifling through the papers of the recently deceased.

Our heroines crush dispenses information to her which starts the ball rolling in this Lovecraftian mystery. It's all to do with strangely lettered boxes and the mysterious 'ST'. Whatever it may be.

Haunter of the Threshold is definitely a good book. I expected it to be pulpy trash, but Ed Lee can definitely write, and write a good mystery too. By the end of the book all the loose ends were tied, even those I'd forgotten about since the start of the book, and it definitely had that Lovecraftian ending. Mr. Lee's reputation remains intact.

What I will say though is that the book is sick throughout. This is not your typical indescribable, unnameable, Lovecraft short (if you haven't read Haunter of the Dark, you'll still be OK in reading Haunter of the Threshold) Lee reveals every detail of the rape, murder and fetishes involved in the mystery. Caveat emptor!

April 1, 2012

Gargoyle Girls of Spider Island by Cameron Pierce Review



By Cameron Pierce
Eraserhead Press
Review by: Rob Walter
Review posted 4/01/2012


Gargoyle Girls of Spider Island is the latest bizarro horror fiction tale from the twisted mind of Cameron Pierce and is published by Eraserhead Press.

Let me warn you by saying this has some VERY heavy sexual and violent content.

Think Gilligan’s Island on LSD. This story is quite a trip. Oscar, Allen, Collette and Jane are four college seniors taking off for a little tropical getaway hoping for some fun. Throw in some half-witted sexual deviant pirates and sprinkle with some “natives” and an unmapped desert island and you have the beginning of this bizarre story. Of course it helps to have cases of rum and American cigarettes with you when you are lost on an island having to fend for yourself.

The natives are hyper sexual woman that turn into super strong sex crazed gargoyles with a village of men slaves.  The mayhem that ensues is truly twisted, mind bending at times and disgusting at other times.  The ending of the story is a bit obvious and is beyond bizarre in nature.

You need a strong stomach to read the entirety of this story.

March 12, 2012

Zombies and Shit by Carlton Mellick III Review

By Carlton Mellick III
Deadite Press
Review by: Rob Walter
Review posted 3/12/2012

Don’t let the title throw you as this story is “Running Man” meets “Night of the Living Dead”. The zombie apocalypse happened 50 years ago and the survivors now live in enclaves. The largest of these is Neo-New York. The island is divided into three classes, Platinum, Silver and Copper. Platinum is for all the higher muckety mucks, silver is the middle class workers and Copper is for all the rest of society. Television is finally returning and the hottest show (only available in platinum you understand) is Zombie Survival! Twenty “contestants are taken from the copper area and deposited in the middle of the zombie dead zone (mainland) otherwise known as the “Red Zone”. There can only be one survivor who must make it to a designated spot on the other side of town to be picked up by a remote control helicopter.

The story is well written and the characters have more depth than your average zombie stories. This is amazing when you remember the number of characters in this book. The twenty contestants, Zippo, Scavy, Popcorn, Brick, Haroon, Xiu, Gogo, Heinz, Alanzo, Nemesis, Oro, Junko, Wendy, Bosco, Adriana, Vine, Lee, Rainbow Cat, Laurence and Charlie are a wide sample of people. Punks, Writers, prostitutes etc. Some of the people are contestants to have them disappear. There are many twists and turns to the story not only in the red zone but also back in Neo-New York.

A unique touch is at the start of each chapter there is a table with pictures (program)of all of the contestants. Can’t tell the players without your program. As they are killed or turned to zombies, their pictures get blacked out in the following chapters.

I really enjoyed this story as it was a fresh take on the zombie story in a world of zombie stories. I strongly recommend it to anyone who loves a good zombie story especially if you have gotten tired of the “standard” zombie stories out there.

March 2, 2012

Cripple Wolf by Jeff Burk Review


By Jeff Burk
Eraserhead Press
Review by: Ronnie Tucker
Review posted 3/02/2012

Although the book is called Cripple Wolf, the title refers to one of several bizarre short stories written by Jeff Burk.

Cripple Wolf
is, I kid you not, a story about a wheelchair bound werewolf on a plane. No, seriously, it is. And it's awesome! It's exactly the kind of story that, if it was made into a film (which I think it should be), I'd be the first in line to see it. You really can't go wrong when the story begins with a werewolf gnawing a chunk from a baby while people are queuing up to ride on Fetish Flights. The story begins with a Vietnam vet who likes his fetishes and is about to board a Fetish Flights plane on the night of a full moon. I'm not going to spoil the story for you as you really need to read it to believe it. The only downside to the story is the stereotypical, cardboard, Japanese band members, but other than them Cripple Wolf is a top-notch short.

Frosty And The Full Monty
is a short about Frosty the snowman who's fallen on hard times and works in a strip club. Although we do learn that in his past Frosty robbed a liquor store, did time in jail, probably got snow-raped, but did learn to give good snowjobs hence his seedy life. Absolutely mad, but again, it's so mad it's brilliant.

Cook For Your Life
is about contestants in a futuristic 'fighting for your life' cookery show involving cannibalism. I felt it wasn't as good as the previous two stories, but it's still good and unusual since parts of it are written like a script rather than a story.

House Of Cats
is about a house made of cats. No, really, it is. There's also a house of dogs next door and, needless to say, they don't quite get along that well. This one was so-so to me but it was unusual in that it was written in a very fairy tale 'once upon a time' style.

Adrift With Space Badgers tells the tale of off-duty space badger fights and, in the end, how they (inadvertently) get their own back. Another story that's as mad as a box of frogs, and up there with Frosty and Cripple Wolf.

Punk Rock Nursing Home... well, I'm sure you can guess what it's about. One of the weaker ones for me, but I'm no punk rock fan, so maybe that had something to do with it?

Just Another Day In The Park is a bit of a Twilight Zone short with a man trying to figure out what a mute woman, on a box, with a blank cardboard sign is trying to say. Probably the weakest of the lot, but still OK.

Thankfully there are no real duffers in the book. If you like your gore odd then this is definitely a book you need to read. I thoroughly enjoyed it!